Episode 32a – Sea Breeze MQAL

Mini episode can be found here and here.

A few months ago, Angie at gnomeangel.com invited me to join the Mini Quilt-Along (MQAL) she is hosting. I accepted with much joy! The pattern we are making is Sea Breeze from Canoe Ridge Creations, which is a nine-block quilt heavily featuring HSTs (of course!).

My biggest hurdle for this quilt was with fabric choices. I had an idea about sunset themed solids, of pink, peach and orange against a grey background. However, I had trouble finding these in the kind of intensity of colour I wanted. I also wanted to use gradients of my colours and it’s always a challenge to find the right shades.

Fortunately for me, I was able to buy a kona solids FQ bundle from Angie, which took a lot of the work out of it for me.

My first instinct was a green/melon combo, and I played with these colours for quite a while.2014-07-15 14.18.34

However, one of those half-waking and half-dreaming moments reminded me that I love purple and green together, and I finally settled on my colour choices.

2014-07-16 10.13.09-2

The prints I used to ease the contrast between the solids were from Angie as well, but earlier in the year. I am going to put her kids through university! :p

I’ve had a lot of fun making the blocks, and my HSTs are definitely improving. 2014-07-16 20.23.54

But the trimming…. ugh, the trimming.

2014-07-19 08.40.26

2014-07-16 21.04.45

2014-07-16 20.41.07

It’s been torturous resisting the urge to post lots of pics!

2014-07-19 09.46.47

2014-07-19 09.47.07

I am having some trouble getting the corners to match up and am going to have to redo the final seam (perfectionism strikes!) but otherwise the top is completed. 2014-07-19 18.45.09

My ultimate plan for the quilt is to put some borders on it, and make it into a baby quilt. I’m going to offer it for a charity auction my workplace is putting on for a student in need. This feels like a worthwhile use of my time 🙂

If you’re interested in playing along, you can read up on gnomeangel’s blog, join the facebook group and check out #seabreezemqal on instagram.

Rachel at Little White Dove is also blogging her progress today – go check her out!

Peace out

Ms Spider

3 thoughts on “Episode 32a – Sea Breeze MQAL

  1. Loved listening to this!!! I love that you found a way to make this project work for you (and for someone else!) – a couple of people are turning theirs into cushions (which I’m kind of digging as a way of making mini’s without having to put them on the wall). The bee fabric is Heather Ross “Briar Rose”. Can’t wait to see the end “medallion” – look at you branching out! Hope you had fun! 🙂

  2. I have seen the finished top on IG and love it. Have been spending my afternoon checking our all the talented blogger Angie has interviewed. Love how you grew this quilt

Leave a Reply

